MRC’s Annual Gala and DisHonors Awards

At our annual gala celebrations held in Washington, D.C., the Media Research Center presents the “DisHonors Awards,” roasting the most outrageously biased liberal reporters as selected by a distinguished panel of leading media observers. We show “funny clips” from the past year and mockingly award the worst reporting of the year and then have a conservative leader accept the award in jest.

> For more of the media's worst, check the The Best Notable Quotables: Annual Awards for the Year’s Worst Reporting.

Quote of the Year for 2014: Eleanor Clift




Larry Kudlow, Chris Plante, Congressman Jim Jordan, Alan Robertson, Stacey Dash, Cleta Mitchell and the Benham brothers; Cal Thomas served as MC and Brent Bozell honored Mark Levin with the William F. Buckley, Jr. Award for Media Excellence.



Senator Mike Lee, Steve Hayes, Monica Crowley, Jim DeMint, Chris Plante, David Webb and Mia Love; Cal Thomas presented the William F. Buckley, Jr. Award for Media Excellence to Charles Krauthammer. 


2012: 25th Anniversary Gala and DisHonors Awards

Laura Ingraham, Steve Hayes, Jonah Goldberg; William F. Buckley Jr. Award for Media Excellence presented posthumously to Andrew Breitbart and the audience picked Katie Couric as the “Worst Reporter in the History of Man.” Plus, video retrospectives with the most outrageous bias over the MRC’s first 25 years.



Neal Boortz, Ann Coulter, Andrew Klavan, Erick Erickson, Steve King, Ken Cuccinelli and the founders of Tea Party Patriots. William F. Buckley Jr. Award for Media Excellence presented to Cal Thomas.


Mark Levin, Monica Crowley, Ken Cribb, “Joe the Plumber,” Andrew Breitbart and Ed Meese. Brit Hume honored with the William F. Buckley Jr. Award for Media Excellence.


Cal Thomas, Larry Kudlow, Mark Levin, Ann Coulter, Mike Pence and a video tribute to Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy, a SEAL posthumously awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor. William F. Buckley Jr. Award for Media Excellence presented to Tony Snow.


Neal Boortz, Herman Cain, Mary Matalin, Michael Steele, G. Gordon Liddy, Pat Sajak, Ward Connerly and Rush Limbaugh accepted the first annual William F. Buckley Jr. Award for Media Excellence.


Larry Kudlow, Tony Blankley Mark Levin, Jack Singlaub, Stan Evans, Linda Chavez, Ron Robinson and a “Tribute to the American Military” video


Cal Thomas, Sean Hannity, Ann Coulter, Neal Boortz, Zell Miller, T. Boone Pickens and a video tribute to the Swift Boat Vets and POWs for Truth followed by the group’s founder, John O’Neill


Michelle Malkin, Joe Scarborough, Jonah Goldberg, Jeane Kirkpatrick, Laura Ingraham, Richard Viguerie and Al Regnery, plus surprise appearances by Rush Limbaugh and Sam Donaldson


Sean Hannity, Cal Thomas, Laura Ingraham, Ann Coulter, Rich Lowry, Steve Moore, Robert Bork, Mona Charen and Tony Blankley


John Fund, Kate O’Beirne, David Limbaugh, Steve Forbes, Lucianne Goldberg, Katherine Harris and a video tribute to network coverage of September 11th


Stan Evans, Cal Thomas, Michael Reagan, Ed Capano, Ed Meese, Lyn Nofziger, R. Emmett Tyrrell Jr, Olliver North and Clarence Thomas